Epic Quiz

Test your Absa Cape Epic knowledge with our multiple-choice quiz. Then send it to your riding buddies and see who fairs best.

Q1: From where to where did the first ever Absa Cape Epic stage take riders?

  • Knysna to Knysna
  • Knysna to Uniondale
  • Knysna to Avontuur
  • Knysna to George

Q2: It’s well-established Absa Cape Epic lore that Mannie Heymans and Karl Platt were the first men’s winners of the race. But who won the women’s race in 2004?

  • Hanlie Booyens and Sharon Laws
  • Hanlie Booyens and Hannele Steyn
  • Zoe Frost and Hannele Steyn
  • Sally Bigham and Sharon Laws

Q3: Which was the longest ever stage of the Absa Cape Epic (thus far…)? From where to where did the first ever Absa Cape Epic stage take riders?

  • 2007 Stage 6: Montagu to Villiersdorp
  • 2005 Stage 2: George to Herbertsdale
  • 2008 Stage 5: Swellendam to Bredasdorp
  • 2006 Stage 3: Mossel Bay to Riversdale

Q4: Most MTB fans know that Christoph Sauser, Karl Platt and Annika Langvad have each won 5 Absa Cape Epics. But who has the most victories across all the categories?

  • Bärti Bucher
  • Bart Brentjens
  • Ariane Lüthi
  • Christoph Sauser

Q5: A number of WorldTour road racers have raced the Absa Cape Epic after their careers on the road, but who won the race before switching from knobbly tyres to slicks and enjoying a highly successful road career?

  • Cadel Evans
  • Joaquim Rodriguez
  • Anna van der Breggen
  • Jakob Fuglsang

Q6: Who gave Topeak-Ergon’s Kristian Hynek a wheel in 2014 enabling Hynek and Robert Mennen to finish Stage 5 and win the race overall after the Czech rider suffered a double puncture?

  • Markus Kaufmann (Centurion Vaude)
  • Frantizek Rabon (Meerendal Songo Specialized)
  • Roel Paulissen (Torpado Factory)
  • Karl Platt (Team Bulls)

Q7: Name the only team to win all 8 stages of an edition of the Absa Cape Epic.

  • Ariane Lüthi and Annika Langvad
  • Annika Langvad and Kate Courtney
  • Sina Frei and Laura Stigger
  • Christoph Sauser and Burry Stander

Q8: Which of the Last Lions failed to finish the 2022 race, reducing the pack of riders who have completed every edition from 4 to 3?

  • John Gale
  • Craig Beech
  • Mike Nixon
  • Hannele Steyn

Q9: Which year, and between which teams, was the closest ever Absa Cape Epic margin of victory?

  • 2022: Speed Company Racing to Canyon Northwave
  • 2007: Team Bulls to Cannondale Vredestein
  • 2013: Burry Stander – SONGO to Team Bulls
  • 2009: Team Bulls to Trek-Brentjens

Q10: Who did Nino Schurter make his Absa Cape Epic debut alongside?

  • Philip Buys
  • Lars Forster
  • Matthias Stirnemann
  • Florian Vogel

Thank you for taking the quiz!